Home > Bach recordings >

Great Organs of Japan v.1: Bach at Ferris University/Miyamoto
Great Organs of Japan v.1, Bach at Ferris University - Tomoko Miyamoto

Our Price: $18.98 - includes Free Shipping!

Quantity in Stock:55

Product Code: LRCD-1057

Program and Notes Organ Registrations
Great organs of Japan, Volume 1
Bach at Ferris University
Taylor & Boody organ
Tomoko Miyamoto, organ

The first in the Loft Recordings series "Great Organs of Japan" features the Taylor & Boody organ at Ferris University, and showcases the artistry of J. S. Bach and organist Tomoko Miyamoto. The first large American tracker organ in Japan, this instrument has started a wave of new significant instruments by other great American builders, including C. B. Fisk and Brombaugh.  Booklet in English and Japanese, with full specifications of the organ, and organ registrations.

All works by J.S. Bach (1585-1750)

Fuga in g, BWV 578

Three chorales on Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, from the Leipzig manuscript
     Fantasia super, à 2 claviers et pédale, BWV 659
     Trio super, a due bassi e canto fermo, BWV 660
     In organo pleno / il canto fermo nel pedale, BWV 661

Pièce d' Orgue, BWV 572

Sechs Choräle von verschiedener Art (Schübler Chorales)
     Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
     Wo soll ich fliehen hin / Auf meinen lieben Gott, BWV 646
     Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt waltem, BWV 647
     Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, BWV 648
     Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 649
     Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter auf Erden, BWV 650

Partite diverse sopra il Corale: Sei gegrüßet, Jesu gütig, BWV 768

Average Customer Review: Average Customer Review: 5 of 5 5 of 5 Total Reviews: 1 Write a review.

  5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
5 of 5 Bach at Ferris University/Miyamoto June 18, 2007
Reviewer: Peter Miller from Japan  
Magisterial, clear, fully articulated in all its complexity, this performance of Bach's organ music is a multi-dimensional pleasure to listen to again and again. Here is proof again, if any were needed, of the orchestral quality of the organ, expressing joy, profundity, mystery, harmony throughout its impressive range. In Tomoko Miyamoto's hands (and feet) the music of J S Bach is translucently presented, without pyrotechnics, to magnificent effect. One hears, as if for the first time, all the contrapuntal voices, and one experiences the full architecture of each piece.

Was this review helpful to you?

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Bach recordings
Compact Discs
Artist Roster > Miyamoto, Tomoko
Featured organ builders > All Taylor & Boody organs