Home > Organ >

Two Organs by Reuter/Swann
Two Organs by Reuter - Frederick Swann

Our Price: $18.98 - includes Free Shipping!

Product Code: G-49102

Program and Notes
Frederick Swann plays two organs by Reuter

Frederick Swann demonstrates the tonal variety of two organs completed by Reuter in 1997. The first is the organ of First German United Methodist Church in Glendale, California (two manuals 20 ranks), and the second, is at St. Mel Roman Catholic Church of Woodland Hills, California (3 manuals, 58 stops). On this recording, Swann "completes" many of the chorale preludes with an extended and inspiring rendition of the hymn itself.

This recording is available from ArchivMusic. Click here for details.
Program Notes
On the organ of First German United Methodist Church, Glendale, CA:

1.  Prelude and Fugue for Organ in C major by Johann Ludwig Krebs
2.  Voluntary on a Flight of Angels, from "Tunes for Clay's Musical Clock", HWV 600 by George Frideric Handel
3.  Chorale Prelude "Wir Christenleut" by Johann Gottfried Walther
4.  Ach Gott, von Himmel sieh' darein by Johann Nicolaus Hanff
5.  Wir glauben all' an einen Gott, BWV 740 by Johann Sebastian Bach
6.  Wir gläuben all'an einen Gott, BWV 680 by Johann Sebastian Bach
7.  Hymn Improvisation: ” The day thou gavest, Lord, is ended”
8.  "Marche triomphale" by Sigfrid Karg-Elert

On the John and Mary Dora Memorial Organ
St. Mel Roman Catholic Church, Woodland Hills, CA:

9.  Messe solennelle in C sharp minor, Op. 16: no 1, Maestoso by Louis Vierne
10. Tuba Tune for Organ in D major, Op. 15 by Craig Sellar Lang
11. Extended chorale: "Jesu, joy of man's desiring" by Johann Sebastian Bach
12. Fugue in E flat major, BWV 552 ("St Anne") by Johann Sebastian Bach
13. Hymn Improvisation: Immaculate Mary
14. Pieces (12) for Organ, Op. 80: no 5, Ave Maria by Max Reger
15. Symphony for Organ no 4 in F major, Op. 13 no 4: 6th movement, Finale by Charles-Marie Widor
16. Hymn Improvisation: “Holy God We Praise Thy Name”
17. Première livre d'orgue: no 11, Fond d'orgue by Louis Marchand
18. Solo for Organ on the Flute stop by Thomas Augustine Arne

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Compact Discs
Download Room