Home > Clarion Records >

William Grant Still: Skyward My People Rose/VocalEssence
William Grant Still: Skyward My People Rose - VocalEssence - Philip Brunelle

Our Price: $18.98 - includes Free Shipping!

Quantity in Stock:(Out of Stock)

Product Code: CLCD-905

Program and Notes Reviews
Skyward My People Rose: Music of William Grant Still
William Warfield, narrator; Hilda Harris, Yolanda Williams, soloists
VocalEssence Ensemble Singers and Chorus with orchestra
Philip Brunelle, Artistic Director.

William Grant Still’s music for chorus, orchestra and organ brings the blues into the concert hall, ragtime to the ballet stage and the Old World into a new era.

"I found much pleasure in this music, from the profound, disturbing vocal works to joyous, light-hearted, toe-tapping dances." - American Record Guide
Part of The Witness Series of African-American music, sung by VocalEssence Ensemble Singers, directed by Philip Brunelle. Click on the REVIEWS tab above for more...
Program Notes

1. Wailing Woman - [9:12]

2. Swanee River (Old Folks at Home) - [2:56]

And They Lynched Him on a Tree
3. We’ve swung him higher - [3:37]
4. Look dere - [2:05]
5. Oh, sorrow - [4:33]
6. He was her baby - [3:32]
7. They took away his freedom - [2:08]
8. They left him hanging - [2:09]

Miss Sally’s Party
9. Introduction - [2:07]
10. The Square Dance - [2:28]
11. Tia’s Dance - [2:40]
12. Toby and Tip’s Dance - [1:56]
13. The Country Dance - [2:33]
14. Miss Sally’s Dance - [1:18]
15. Jim Slick’s Dance - [2:44]
16. The Cake Walk Contes - [3:16]

17. Reverie - [3:56]

18. Elegy - [5:25]

Total Timing: 58:50

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Clarion Records
The Witness Series/VocalEssence directed by Philip Brunelle
Artist Roster > VocalEssence Ensemble Singers/Philip Brunelle
Compact Discs
Download Room